As known, Europe has funded the Erasmus Programme, which has enabled over 3 million European students to spend part of their studies in another Higher Education Institution (HEI) elsewhere in Europe. Erasmus+ opens up these opportunities, allowing for mobility from other parts of the world to Programme Countries (28 EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, FYROM, Turkey & Serbia) and for outgoing mobility for European students to go to Partner Countries (almost all other countries worldwide).

Credit mobility can be defined as a limited period of study (in the framework of on-going studies at a home institution) for the purpose of gaining credits. After the mobility phase, students return to their home institution, where the credits are recognized and they complete their studies.

Students are able to study abroad for a period of 3 months (or one academic term or trimester) up to a maximum of 12 months in each study cycle and can benefit from an Erasmus+ grant. Also they can realize a mobility for traineeship for a period of 2 months up to a maximum of 12 months.

Staff can spend a teaching and/or training period abroad from five days (excluding travel) to a maximum of two months and can also benefit from a grant. The grant for staff may provide funding for two additional days of travel (one before and one after the mobility).

Each Erasmus+ National Agency established in a Programme Country has a budget to fund a number of mobility projects between HEIs in that Programme Country and those in Partner Countries. Institutions from Programme Countries can apply to their National Agency to organize projects with HEIs in one or more Partner Countries. The National Agency will award the successful HEIs a grant to cover the mobility of a number of students and staff.